Puerto Rico Travel GuidePuerto Rico Map ⎮ Map of Cities & Towns in Puerto Rico

We invite you to visit Puerto Rico and explore all the beauty and treasures throughout the island.  This guide is complete with two maps:

  • An image map with all the town names.
  • A clickable interactive map with information on municipalities that include tourism guides, photos, and more detailed maps.

Save a Spot - 5 Star Icacos Tour

Introduction & Image Map - Municipalities & Cities

Puerto Rico

Puerto Rico consists of 78 municipalities (municipios) each having its own mayor and local government office(s).  These can be compared to counties in the United States.  Each municipality has a most-populated “urban zone” which carries the same name as the parent municipality commonly named “El Pueblo” by locals.  Based on population, urban and suburban zones can be classified as a city, Ciudad, town, or pueblo.  

Puerto Rico Municipalities Map

For example, the major urban zone in the municipality of Ponce is the pueblo of Ponce; the urban zone in the municipality of Rincon is the pueblo of Rincon.  Municipalities and urban zones also have barrios, and neighborhoods, which are further legal subdivisions within the municipalities.  Compared to the U.S., these would be like smaller “villages” within the counties, in the outskirts of towns or suburbs of the cities.  As of 2010, there were 901 barrios in Puerto Rico.

Puerto Rico has offshore islands (see map).  Two of the islands are municipalities, Isla de Culebra and Isla de Vieques, they are located off the east coast of the main island.  To the west, Isla de Mona (Mona Island) and Isla Desecheo (Desecheo Island) are uninhabited nature reserves, they are part of the City of Mayaguez.  Isla Caja de Muertos is off the southern coast of Puerto Rico and is part of the City of Ponce.

Interactive Map of Municipalities & Cities in Puerto Rico

Scroll ↓ for an interactive map with Capital of Puerto Rico (red), cities (orange), best tourist destinations (darker blue), islands, and the rest of the municipalities.  Click for more information about the towns and offshore islands of Puerto Rico.

We constantly travel around the island to add more photos and information about all the towns in Puerto Rico. We continuously add information about towns and points of interest, so come back often for updates.

Cities in Puerto RIco

Tourist Destinations in Puerto Rico

Top Resort Vacation Destinations

Top Beach Towns for Authentic Beach Town Experience

Quiet, Romantic Escapes

Municipalities / Municipios

Puerto Rico
  • Guaynabo
  • Gurabo
  • Hatillo
  • Hormigueros
  • Humacao
  • Isabela
  • Jayuya
  • Juana Díaz
  • Juncos
  • Lajas
  • Lares
  • Las Marías
  • Orocovis
  • Patillas

Island Municipalities / Isla Municipios

Puerto Rico

Island Municipalities / Islas Municipios 

Tours Visitors Love in Puerto Rico

Puerto Rico Travel GuidePuerto Rico Map ⎮ Map of Cities & Towns in Puerto Rico